The earliest date available on WordPress

The earliest date available on WordPress is what?

As you might have guessed, despite the URL date of this post (0100/01/01), I did not post this page on the 1st of January in the year 100.

I wanted to see how far back WordPress would let me retro-date a post. So, I can go back to 1/1/100, but no further.
Damn, I wanted to post this on 1/1/1. Maybe I should whinge to WordPress about this.
Of course, if I could retro-date this post back that far, my next move would be to email WordPress and complain about not being able to retro-date back to the BC years.
Damn all those Date Fascists at Whirlpool!
🙂

P.S. Well, that was weird. WordPress accepted my backdating of this post to the year 100, but then when I checked it later, I saw that it headed the post with today’s date (even though the URL gives the year as 100, https://dargewildun.wordpress.com/0100/01/01/stuff-i-want/). WTF?
Hey WordPress! Clean up your act! How am I going to trick people into thinking there were computers in the year 100, unless you play ball? Geez.
[Update: It now looks like that WordPress has fixed that problem, as the post is now dated 1/1/100].

P.P.S. Ah, I see (said the blind man), it looks like the date of this post is so early (the year 100) that the WordPress software refuses to treat it as such, and hence will always say it was posted on the current day’s date. Damn.
[Update: It now looks like that WordPress has fixed that problem, as the post is now dated 1/1/100].

P.P.P.S. I’ve also noticed that the “Archives” section on the right side of my blog has a link for “January 100”, but there is no post listed in there when you click on it.
What the? *sigh*
[Update: Nope, this problem still hasn’t been fixed. Although, I suspect that WordPress does not have too many idiot clients like me who are trying to backdate posts to the year 100, so not really worth their time fixing it].

So now I’ve enabled this post by putting a link to it in the “Links” section.
Ah, the weird ins-and-outs of trying to do strange stuff with the WordPress dating system; serves me right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

